Remote Work Neutral 5

Canada's RTO mandate costs $18.7M — with no data behind the policy

Canadian federal departments will spend at least $18.7 million to reconfigure offices for a four-day in-office mandate, yet the Treasury Board admits no metrics or studies informed the policy. For HR leaders, it is a real-world case study in the hidden costs and evidentiary gaps of top-down return-to-office decisions.

· 4 min read · Verified by 4 sources ·

HR & Workforce briefing

Key takeaways

5 impact
Neutralsentiment
4sources
4min read
  1. Canadian federal departments will spend at least $18.7 million to reconfigure offices for a four-day in-office mandate, yet the Treasury Board admits no metrics or studies informed the policy.
  2. For HR leaders, it is a real-world case study in the hidden costs and evidentiary gaps of top-down return-to-office decisions.
Drawn from
  • stcatharinesstandard.ca
  • niagarafallsreview.ca
  • ottawacitizen.com
  • ottawasun.com

In this briefing

Mentioned

Key Intelligence

Key Facts

  1. 113 federal organizations project a combined $18,720,150 to reconfigure or acquire office space for the RTO-4 mandate.
  2. 2ISED leads spending at nearly $5.7M, followed by Fisheries and Oceans ($4.2M), CBSA ($3.9M), and Correctional Service ($1.37M).
  3. 3Of 81 responding departments and agencies, 12 reported no costs and 56 did not disclose figures or referred them to PSPC.
  4. 4The Treasury Board confirmed 'no specific metrics, assessments, or studies' were used to develop the in-office requirements.
  5. 5Executives returned full-time in May and most public servants began a four-day on-site schedule in July, following a February announcement.
  6. 6The government has office space for only 90% of workers, causing some departments to delay implementing the policy.
Projected RTO office spending
$18.7M 56 of 81 orgs undisclosed

Combined projected costs from 13 federal organizations

Analysis

Case for RTO
  • In-person collaboration and mentorship across the public service
  • Reuses existing federal real estate holdings
  • Executive full-time return signals leadership commitment
Case against RTO
  • $18.7M cost with no defined ROI or productivity metrics
  • Treasury Board admits no studies informed the policy
  • 56 orgs haven't disclosed costs — total likely far higher
  • Only 90% office capacity, forcing implementation delays

Analysis

For HR and workforce leaders, Canada's federal return-to-office push is a rare, fully documented experiment in mandate economics. Thirteen departments have now put a price — $18.7 million and counting — on forcing employees back four days a week, while the Treasury Board concedes the policy was a 'philosophical choice' with no supporting data. The episode offers a cautionary template for any organization weighing in-office mandates against cost, capacity, and employee retention.

The Canadian federal government's return-to-office mandate — known as RTO-4 — will cost at least $18.7 million in office reconfiguration and acquisition expenses, according to responses to an order paper question tabled by NDP MP Heather McPherson. Thirteen of 81 federal departments and agencies disclosed projected spending of $18,720,150 combined to accommodate a policy requiring most public servants to work on-site four days a week. The figure, revealed in late September 2026, is almost certainly an undercount: 12 organizations reported no costs, while 56 either did not disclose projections or deferred to Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), the government's central property manager, which said it was still evaluating the bill.

The Canadian federal government's return-to-office mandate — known as RTO-4 — will cost at least $18.7 million in office reconfiguration and acquisition expenses, according to responses to an order paper question tabled by NDP MP Heather McPherson.

The spending is concentrated among a handful of large departments. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) leads with nearly $5.7 million, followed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada at $4.2 million, the Canada Border Services Agency at an estimated $3.9 million, and the Correctional Service of Canada at $1.37 million. These figures cover reconfiguring or acquiring office space to physically accommodate thousands of additional on-site workers. The new schedule took effect in stages: executives returned full-time in May, and the broader public service moved to four in-office days in July, following the government's February announcement that it would increase mandatory in-person days.

The most striking revelation is procedural rather than financial. The Treasury Board confirmed in writing that "no specific metrics, assessments, or studies" were used to develop the in-office requirements — an admission that echoes earlier comments by Bill Matthews, the department's top public servant, who described the policy as a "philosophical choice." For a government that has repeatedly justified RTO on cost-effectiveness and productivity grounds, the absence of any documented evidentiary basis undermines the rationale and invites both parliamentary and union scrutiny. McPherson told The Canadian Press that the government "clearly has not done the research" and predicted the true cost would climb higher as remaining responses arrive.

Operationally, the mandate collides with a hard physical constraint: the government currently has enough office space for only 90 per cent of its workforce. Some departments have already been forced to delay implementation of the four-day requirement as a result. This gap between policy ambition and real-estate reality means the $18.7 million may represent only the first tranche of spending, with fit-up, lease extensions, IT infrastructure, and accessibility retrofits likely to add materially to the final price. PSPC's ongoing evaluation of costs, combined with 56 organizations that have not yet disclosed figures, suggests the headline number should be treated as a floor rather than a ceiling.

The story carries significant implications for public-sector workforce strategy and for the broader debate over hybrid work. Canada's RTO-4 is one of the most aggressive return-to-office policies among major Western governments, and its implementation is being watched as a test case by employers in both public and private sectors. The $18.7 million price tag — roughly equivalent to a small department's annual program budget — raises questions about opportunity cost at a time when governments are under fiscal pressure. Every dollar spent reconfiguring cubicles is a dollar not spent on service delivery, digital transformation, or compensation.

What to Watch

From a talent and retention perspective, the mandate also risks colliding with employee preferences that have hardened since the pandemic. The fact that the policy was not grounded in any measurable productivity or collaboration data makes it harder for the government to defend against attrition concerns, particularly for specialized knowledge workers who can command remote-friendly roles in the private sector. The Correctional Service and CBSA figures also illustrate that "office" work means very different things across agencies — border officers and correctional staff have operational, front-line roles that are not readily comparable to policy analysts.

Looking ahead, the full cost picture will only emerge as PSPC completes its assessment and the 56 non-disclosing organizations report. The next milestones to watch include supplementary estimates, any departmental delays in achieving the four-day target, and the political response in Parliament, where McPherson's order paper question has already forced a level of transparency the government did not volunteer. For employers tracking the RTO debate, Canada's experience offers a cautionary data point: mandates issued on philosophical grounds, without cost-benefit evidence, tend to generate costs that are discovered after the fact rather than budgeted in advance.

Source cluster

Primary reporting

4articles

Cite This Page

"Canada's RTO mandate costs $18.7M — with no data behind the policy." HR & Workforce Intelligence Brief, September 24, 2026. https://gethrbrief.com/story/canada-federal-rto-18m-hr-lessons

How we covered this story

Every story in our hr & workforce coverage is assembled from multiple primary sources, cross-referenced for factual consistency, and scored along three independent dimensions: sentiment, operational impact, and source-cluster confidence. Single-source rumors and unverifiable claims do not pass our editorial gate. When a story shows "Verified by N sources" with N≥2, the development is independently corroborated; when N=1, we mark it explicitly so readers can weigh the signal accordingly.

Impact scoring uses a 1-10 scale weighted toward regulatory, financial, and operational consequence rather than coverage volume. A topic that runs in every outlet but moves no real decisions ranks lower than a niche regulatory filing that reshapes how operators in the hr & workforce space have to behave. Read our full methodology for the scoring rubric, our glossary for term definitions, and our trends index for the longitudinal view across the beat.

Sources are only linked to a story once they clear our classification pipeline at a minimum 35 percent relevance threshold. According to that methodology, reviewed July 2026, this follows multi-source corroboration standards recommended by journalism research bodies such as the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism.

See something wrong in this story — a wrong fact, a broken source link, a misattributed entity? Report a data issue.